General Information
GLOBECOM 2004 will feature seven major Symposia, including the traditional GLOBECOM General Conference addressing a set of current communication topics, and Tutorials and Workshops. You are invited to submit original technical papers for presentation at GLOBECOM 2004 and publication in the Conference Record. Proposals for tutorials and workshops in important or emerging communications topics are also invited. Visit the website for further details.

IEEE GLOBECOM 2004 SYMPOSIA TITLES
GENERAL CONFERENCE
Co-Chair: Nelson Fonseca (Univ. of Campinas, Brazil) E-mail: nfonseca@ic.unicamp.br
Co-Chair: Xiaodong Wang (Columbia Univ., USA) E-mail: wangx@ee.columbia.edu

OPTICAL COMMUNICATION NETWORKS
Co-Chair: Andrea Fumagalli (Univ. of Texas at Dallas, USA) E-mail: andreaf@utdallas.edu
Co-Chair: Naoaki Yamanaka (NTT Network Innovation Laboratories, Japan) E-mail: yamanaka.naoaki@ieee.org

SIGNAL PROCESSING FOR COMMUNICATIONS
Co-Chair: Joseph Cavallaro (Rice Univ., USA) E-mail: cavallar@rice.edu
Co-Chair: Jaafar Elmirghani (University of Wales Swansea, United Kingdom) E-mail: J.M.H.Elmirghani@swansea.ac.uk
Co-Chair: Michael Zoltowski (Purdue Univ., USA) E-mail: mikedz@ecn.purdue.edu

COMMUNICATION THEORY
Co-Chair: Naofal Al-Dhahir (Univ. of Texas at Dallas, USA) E-mail: aldhahir@utdallas.edu
Co-Chair: Len Cimini (Univ. of Delaware, USA) E-mail: cimini@ece.udel.edu
Co-Chair: Dennis L. Goeckel (Univ. of Mass., USA) E-mail: goeckel@chloe.ecs.umass.edu
Co-Chair: Brian Hughes (North Carolina State University, USA) E-mail: blhughes@eos.ncsu.edu

GLOBAL INTERNET & NEXT GENERATION NETWORKS
Co-Chair: Arup Acharya (IBM Research, USA) E-mail: arup@us.ibm.com
Co-Chair: Yuguang Michael Fang (Univ. of Florida, USA) E-mail: fang@ece.ufl.edu
Co-Chair: G.S. Kuo (National Chengchi University, Taiwan) E-mail: gskuo@ieee.org

SECURITY AND NETWORK MANAGEMENT
Co-Chair: Madjid Merabti (Liverpool John Moores University, United Kingdom) E-mail: M.Merabti@livjm.ac.uk
Co-Chair: Pradeep Ray (Univ of New South Wales, Australia) E-mail: p.ray@unsw.edu.au
Co-Chair: Gang Wu (DoCoMo USA Labs, USA) E-mail: wu@docomolabs-usa.com

WIRELESS COMMUNICATION, NETWORKS, & SYSTEMS
Co-Chair: K. B. Letaief (HKUST, Hong Kong) E-mail: eekhaled@ee.ust.hk
Co-Chair: Witold Krzymien (University of Alberta, Canada) E-mail: wak@ee.ualberta.ca
Co-Chair: C.K. Toh (Northrop Grumman, USA) E-mail: ck.ieee@doctor.com
Co-Chair: Boon Sain Yeo (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore) E-mail: boonyeo@ieee.org

GLOBECOM 2004 CONFERENCE TOPICS
3G, 4G Mobile Systems
Access Techniques
Adaptive & Nonlinear Signal Processing
Adaptive Modulation
Audio/Image/Video Signal Processing
Authentication and Access Control
Coding and Processing for Data Storage
Communications Software
Computing Security
Congestion Control
Cross Layer Network Design
Detection and Estimation
Diversity Techniques and Equalization
DSP Applications to Wireless Systems
DVB and DAB Techniques
End-to-End QoS
Fading Countermeasures
Firewall Management
Information Theory
Internet Architecture and Protocols
Intrusion and Denial of Service
IP Services and Support Technologies
Low Power Algorithms
MIMO Systems
Mobile / Wireless Ad-Hoc Networking
Mobility Management
Modulation and Coding
Multicarrier Transmission
Multiple Access
Network Security Protocols
Network Support for Applications
Networking Aspects of Grid Computing
Optical Communication Systems
Optical Components and Devices
Optical Network Survivability & Fault Management
Propagation / Channel Characterization
Quality of Service and Scheduling
Radio Resource Management
Resource Allocation and Interference Management
Security
Sensor Networks
Signal Separation and Interference Rejection
Source Coding
Space-Time Coding and Processing
Synchronization
Tactical Communications
Topics in Communication Theory
Turbo Codes and Iterative Decoding
Ultra-Wideband Communications
Wireless Services and Applications
Wireless Switching and Routing Techniques
Wireless System Optimization Techniques
TUTORIALS AND WORKSHOPS
Proposals are invited for half- or full-day tutorials and workshops in important or emerging communication topics relevant to GLOBECOM 2004.

Tutorial Proposal Guidelines

Workshop Proposal Guidelines

TUTORIAL CHAIR
Andrea Goldsmith
(Stanford University)
Email: andrea@ee.stanford.edu

IMPORTANT DATES
Complete Paper Manuscripts Due:
Due to technical difficulties the paper deadline has been extended to 5 March 2004, 11:59 pm EST.

Do not wait until the last minute to upload your paper.  The extremely high volume of activity right at the deadline is what cause the server to go down.  NO EXTENSIONS WILL BE GRANTED BEYOND THIS DATE.


Proposals for Full- or Half- Day Tutorials Due: 1 March 2004, 3 am EST
Tutorial proposals should be sent to the Tutorial Chair, Andrea Goldsmith (andrea@ee.stanford.edu)
Tutorial Proposal Guidelines

Proposals for Full- or Half- Day Workshops Due: 1 March 2004, 3 am EST
Workshop proposals should be sent to the Tutorial Chair, Andrea Goldsmith (andrea@ee.stanford.edu)
Workshop Proposal Guidelines

TECHNICAL PROGRAM CHAIR
Ted S. Rappaport
(University of Texas at Austin)
E-mail: wireless@mail.utexas.edu

TECHNICAL PROGRAM VICE-CHAIR
Tom Chen
(Southern Methodist University)
E-mail: tchen@engr.smu.edu